Bull 3-2-1 Ribs

tjmac06

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
Did the 3-2-1 method on these ribs at 225 Yellow mustard with a Honey Rib Rub for 3 hours with an apple juice and apple cider vinegar spritz every 30 minutes after the first 90 minutes. Wrapped ribs with Brown sugar, honey and margarine in foil for 2 hours. Took ribs out of foil, put liquid that was in foil and heated it up and let it thicken. Put ribs on at 300 for last hour with a little of the warm apple pie rub and the thickened sauce. Very tasty and fell off the bone.
PXL_20210109_230424119.jpg
PXL_20210109_231035186.jpg

I been loving the 3-2-1. Except having to extra scrape the drip tray with burn on BBQ sauce :/

Many of the foil folks move to scraping, I did. It's pretty easy. I've just been lazy about it since it got cold outside.
Do tell the reasoning...curious to know. I'm new to the pellet (and RT) game...

Do tell the reasoning...curious to know. I'm new to the pellet (and RT) game...
Lots of threads on it here. Short version is many times the foil doesn't allow the grease to drain fully due to bubbles/creases/etc. You can get a hole in the foil or get grease under the foil. You're better off just taking the 30 seconds to scrape it and put it back in again.

And the grease prevents rust too :)

Lots of threads on it here. Short version is many times the foil doesn't allow the grease to drain fully due to bubbles/creases/etc. You can get a hole in the foil or get grease under the foil. You're better off just taking the 30 seconds to scrape it and put it back in again.
Interesting...I've used heavy duty foil to foil my drip tray and never had any of those issues. Now the preventing rust thing that @Chris_G is interesting, I'd hope it won't rust any time soon!

Interesting...I've used heavy duty foil to foil my drip tray and never had any of those issues. Now the preventing rust thing that @Chris_G is interesting, I'd hope it won't rust any time soon!