Your favorite brisket technique?

geneseohawk

I'm new to cooking brisket and would like advice on your tried and proven technique for cooking one. Temp? Wrap? Rub? Etc.... Thanks for any advice.

There will be a million comments/opinions and at least as many posts telling you to search the forum for a million more posts/opinions.

For brisket #1 trim it carefully, but leave at least 1/4 inch of fat on top to protect the meat for a long cook. Don't go crazy; just remove the stuff you're never going to want to put in your mouth on in the mouths of anyone you like.

First time out, stick with Kosher salt, coarse black pepper and maybe some onion and garlic powder (you'll see this abbreviated places as SPOG). Apply the rub and let it sit for a while, but it's not super critical on brisket #1. Some people put a "slather" of everything from yellow mustard to more exotic things to help the rub "stick". For brisket #1, just add the rub. It really does stick to the already tacky raw meat. Don't coat the meat in rub so much that you don't see meat through the rub.

Cook at your preference of 225 - 275 (lots of different opinions here). I usually start at 225 for a couple hours (for more smoke on a pellet grill) and then move up to 250 for the balance of the cook. It will take a while depending upon the size/shape of the brisket to get to an internal temp of around 160 - 170 (I pay attention at 165) where you hit the "stall" where it seems like nothing is happening for like an hour. Lots of references to this as well.

When you start seeing the internal temperature starting to rise again, you may want to wrap the brisket in butcher paper or foil if that's what you have. Continue to cook until in the 195 - 205 range when the meat is "jiggly" and a probe goes into all parts of the meat with ease. I (and others) have an artificial number of 203 as that has never let me down.