What Happened?

MGS

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
HI All
new here and looking for some sort of answer as to what just happened. So I bought a RT-340 in April and I've used it quite a few times. Ribs/pulled pork/chicken..... things that didn't take too long. Well family BBQ today and I figured I'd switch it up and do a nice slow and low brisket. I cleaned my Recteq and filled up the hopper with their premium blend. Set the cook at 200. Every was running as normal. Put the brisket on at 11:30 last night. Kept an eye on it and things are running along fine and I head to bed at midnight. I wake up at 6:30 to find my cook temp at 81degrees. The fan is running( i can hear it) but no fire/smoke. The hopper is completely full. The data read out on the app said it dropped to 140 degrees at around 2am then i got a 300 degree temp spike Then it falls down to 81 degrees. I just threw away my 12plbs brisket. I will be calling rector tomorrow at 8:00am. Any thoughts as to what might have happened?

I have found the Recteq Ultimate pellets to be very inconsistent in length; some measuring up to 2” in length. They can easily bridge and block pellet supply flow from the hopper. I have a half-dozen bags of them (that I got as a bundle when buying my grills) and I now only use them in my smoke tube. That should be about a two-lifetime supply.

Personally, I’m using Kingsford 100% Hickory, Bear Mountain Hickory or LumberJack Hickory pellets now. They are all more uniform in length, averaging about an inch, and I’ve had no bridging issues with them. YMMV

I have found the Recteq Ultimate pellets to be very inconsistent in length; some measuring up to 2” in length. They can easily bridge and block pellet supply flow from the hopper. I have a half-dozen bags of them (that I got as a bundle when buying my grills) and I now only use them in my smoke tube. That should be about a two-lifetime supply.