Recteq App Failure

craigp

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-1250
The past two thanksgivings, I had issues with the Recteq app. Last year, the app failed to give me correct temp probe readings. This year, the app’s temp probe alerts would not work. Very frustrating when you’re trying to cook for a large gathering.

I emailed customer support and was told this is a normal occurrence during heavy app traffic. They offered no apology and no promise of a future resolution. In other words, they are saying: Don’t rely on our substandard app during busy holidays, just deal with it.

Very disappointing.

Step Brothers Yep GIF by reactionseditor

Invest in an independent system, not getting any better and likely never will.

What @BigDan said! 👆

The problem isn’t actually with the app per se; it is with the RT servers that it is required to work through. The servers are simply inadequate to handle the traffic at busy times. At 2am on a Wednesday, you would have no problem.

I’m no computer expert, but if ThermoWorks can make its app work flawlessly at all times, Recteq could too…if it wanted to commit the resources. Obviously, it doesn’t.

What @BigDan said! 👆

The problem isn’t actually with the app per se; it is with the RT servers that it is required to work through. The servers are simply inadequate to handle the traffic at busy times. At 2am on a Wednesday, you would have no problem.

I’m no computer expert, but if ThermoWorks can make its app work flawlessly at all times, Recteq could too…if it wanted to commit the resources. Obviously, it doesn’t.
@Jim6820 is correct. They could go AWS but won’t.

Any recommendations? I have an Inkbird with Bluetooth, but the Bluetooth signal doesn’t reach very far.
How far away do you need to be? Mine theoretically has 300’ range. Never gone beyond that. I’ve got a Smoke (non X).