Portions, Leftovers and Empty Nesters

Pops

Lifetime Premium!
Premium Member
Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
  2. Bullseye
As all of you know by now, as a Newbie, I have had several successful cooks on my 590 and Bullseye. So my next question has to do with everyday cooking.
It is just my wife and I, so everything has been fine so far. I do want to cook a brisket, maybe a pork butt. So my question is:

If I get a brisket, should I cut it in half, freeze it and then only cook half or cook it all and freeze of course with vacuum seal.
Same on Pork but.
I love both but hate freezing food. Or am I just unlearned?

What say you!

I would portion ahead, vacuum pack, and freeze.

Something you can also do with left over smoked meat is add it into baked beans (along with chunks of pepper and onion) to make it more of a meal. Did that for years with bits of smoked beef, pork, turkey, and cajun sausage.

Honestly, a lot of what I cook is frozen lately if I get it fresh or that way. I can't really tell the difference anymore. Just don't let it sit too long and it will all be fine. No reason to cook more than necessary and waste it. Only the two of us now aside from the pups. They help sometimes if there is a little left.

Pops, it's just my wife and I. Our freezer almost always has a bit of previously smoked tri-tip, pulled pork, baby backs, and probably some other meat. One of our favorite things is to use the smoked meats in recipes or just to warm and serve. Our most popular is the pulled pork. We pack all the meats in smaller quantities, suitable for single meals for 2.

Yes, to the above. Smoke it all then portion it out and freeze it. Makes for great on the fly meals and or experimenting with things. Wrap it up good and tight (vacuum if you got it), but don't keep it frozen for too long. I prefer warming things up with some low steam, or air fryer.