Stampede Baby Back Ribs - What am I doing wrong

cddawg

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
So I'm new to Pellet grilling. Got the 590 a couple months ago and have done okay thus far. I'm struggling with baby back ribs though. I'm looking for the bite off the bone goodness. I've cooked them twice thus far using the 2-2-1 method. Reading that 3-2-1 is for spare ribs. Both attempts were at 225.

First attempt started great. Spritzed around every 30 mins. When I wrapped, I added honey, butter, and some of the apple juice spritz. Unwrapped after 2 hours and they were nice and tender. Halfway into the last part (unwrap for an hour) I noticed the ribs went from tender to hard as a rock. I panicked and wrapped them again for the final 30 mins (with sauce). Then let them sit for an hour (wrapped) before cutting. They turned out ok but were a little tough. Wasn't coming cleanly off the bone.

Second attempt I did everything the same except after unwrapping, I threw a probe in it for the final unwrapped hour. The temp read between 167-169 for the full hour. I know I'm looking for at least 195 but the kids were hungry and it was getting late. Rested them for 20 mins and they turned out slightly better than the first time but not tender enough.

Only thing I can think of is they need cooked longer. Everything I read says a 3-2-1 is too long for baby back though. The stalled temp seems odd for ribs, as some parts of it were much higher after unwrapping. Should I try not wrapping next time? Any guidance would be appreciated.

I've done the baby backs 3-2-1 and had them take over 7 hours. We like a little pull but are also ok with fall off the bone too I rather have them a little overdone than tough. It all depends on the meat as to the tenderness and time to cook. I have found It's not something to cook if time is tight.