Stampede RT-590 Initial Burn Issues

cboesl

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
I got my new RT-590 all set up today and started the initial burn in as described in the instructions. Set the temps to 400 as described and monitored the temp through the app. The temp hit 400 in about 7 minutes after waffling up and down a few times around 180. Once it hit 400 degrees, it just kept climbing. It hit 450 and was still climbing so I turned it off thinking there might be a problem. I'm using a new bag of Weber hickory pellets that I picked up at Lowe's. Didn't have access to anything else this weekend. I am new to pellets grills so learning as I go here. Should the temp get that high over the 400 setting on this initial burn? The grill is outside in direct sunlight in GA with a current outdoor temp of 89 degrees. Any thoughts/help for this newbie is appreciated.

The first thing to do is check the auger feed rate. Makes sure it is set at 30 (on the controller) or 3 (on the app.

I got my new RT-590 all set up today and started the initial burn in as described in the instructions. Set the temps to 400 as described and monitored the temp through the app. The temp hit 400 in about 7 minutes after waffling up and down a few times around 180. Once it hit 400 degrees, it just kept climbing. It hit 450 and was still climbing so I turned it off thinking there might be a problem. I'm using a new bag of Weber hickory pellets that I picked up at Lowe's. Didn't have access to anything else this weekend. I am new to pellets grills so learning as I go here. Should the temp get that high over the 400 setting on this initial burn? The grill is outside in direct sunlight in GA with a current outdoor temp of 89 degrees. Any thoughts/help for this newbie is appreciated.
I did my RT-590 initial today too. No issues. Auger is set on 30 / 3.0. I am using Lumberjack hickory.