Bull Free cold smoker is standard on the rt 700!

Fortunately, one of the problems I have avoided with my RT-340 is burn back and the associated flash fire. My theory is that using LavaLock seals on both the cooking chamber and pellet hopper lids slows, or stops, enough air flow into those chambers to prevent the problem. YMMV

I do reduce the heat to 250F or less before turning the grill off and I’m sure that also helps.

Lots of great info already, I'll just add my 2 cents. You mentioned the controller change I'd investigate the auger settings minimum feed rate and think there's a setting you can change from the app. I started playing with minimum feed rate(accessible on the controller) on my bfg, it was at like 10 I changed it up to like 55 65 to see if I got more smoke at low temperature, it did but also would not shut down properly. I shut mine down after cook and went out hours later to put it away and had very similar look to your original post

You mentioned the controller change I'd investigate the auger settings minimum feed rate and think there's a setting you can change from the app. I started playing with minimum feed rate(accessible on the controller) on my bfg, it was at like 10 I changed it up to like 55 65 to see if I got more smoke at low temperature, it did but also would not shut down properly. I shut mine down after cook and went out hours later to put it away and had very similar look to your original post