Bullseye Worst pot roast ever!

PonySoldier

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bullseye
Tried a 3lb chuck pot roast on my RecTeq Bullseye 380 today... my first long cook. Did 30 min for each side at 250 degrees (grill). Did the braising liquid in foil pan (covered) for one hour - again at 250 and then added potatoes, carrots, onions and mushrooms. Covered and cooked for 2 more hours (250 degrees), Temperature maintained well throughout the cook. Vegetables were good but the roast was really tough. Since I am new at this I am just chalking it up to my inexperience (done a bunch of "short" cooks - steaks, burgers, etc - with great results).

Tried a 3lb chuck pot roast on my RecTeq Bullseye 380 today... my first long cook. Did 30 min for each side at 250 degrees (grill). Did the braising liquid in foil pan (covered) for one hour - again at 250 and then added potatoes, carrots, onions and mushrooms. Covered and cooked for 2 more hours (250 degrees), Temperature maintained well throughout the cook. Vegetables were good but the roast was really tough. Since I am new at this I am just chalking it up to my inexperience (done a bunch of "short" cooks - steaks, burgers, etc - with great results).

Been there, done that. I cook just the chuck so I can control doneness. Others here have been successful with your intended method. Welcome aboard!

What was your indicator of doneness after 3 hours total of braising? I’ve done a lot of these, and in my experience 3 hours in the braising liquid is not enough. My process is to first sear all 6 sides of the chuck at high temp, 450-500°. Then prepare the braise and cook at 250° until the chuck is probe tender. My logs show that the last 3# chuck I did like this was on at 250° for 6-½ hours, which is on the long end for a chuck. You were smart to split the cook time on the vegetables as they will be mush if left in for the full cook.

What was the IT of the roast when you pulled it? Also did you let it rest before cutting up?