So Frustrated....Assistance Appreciated

Tequila King

Ok, so I've had my RT-700 for almost a month now, and am obsessed with smoking. It's a whole new world for me, as I've never done it before, only issue is.......I stink at it :( Nothing I've made has been any different than a gas grill, never get any smokey flavor, and worse, some things have been downright terrible. My frustration reached an apex yesterday, though.

I smoked 3 racks of St. Louis style ribs. I followed Matt from Meat Church's method to a T:

Pellets: I've used Bear Mountain Gourmet BBQ since Day 1
Temp: 275
Rub: Meat Church Honey BBQ

I smoked them uncovered for 2 Hours 20 Minutes, spritzing with apple cider vinegar halfway through. Removed, put in 2 layers of foil with brown sugar, Parkay and Rib Candy....placed meat side down for another 1 Hour 40 Minutes.

The two racks on the left were partially burnt on top, and the rack on the right, was almost all burnt on top. No smokey flavor, nothing. The parts that weren't burnt were actually not bad, but nothing special at all.

What am i doing wrong here, or what should i be troubleshooting?
Thanks in advance.

TK

I think a lot of us start off 225 or lower to get some smoke in the meat, then ramp it up.
Burnt parts were likely overhanging the heat diffuser,(meant drip pan) it gets super hot, you've gotta rotate the meat, especially away from the right side. 1 month in, you're still able to eat your mistakes, you're doing fine. It just takes time to figure it all out.

Last edited:
Where to begin:

Temp of 275º will not produce as much smoke as say 200º
Cooking to time vs temp is not the way to go

There is nothing wrong with Matt's process, different grills/smokers will cook differently.

When I do my ribs, I will smoke them at 180º-200º for approx 3 hours or until I get the temp (usually about 145º) that I want. Before I wrap them, I want to see a little bit of pullback on the bones.