Bull Pizza/ Pizza Stone Questions

edryer4356

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I’m still new to the 700 and trying all kinds of things. Our family loves pizzas but I don’t want to buy a separate pizza oven to mess around with. I’ve heard some have used the Green Mountain pizza box but wanted to know if cooking pizzas on a pizza stone would be just fine at 500deg. I’m looking at getting a Fibra-ment baking stone that is the surface of the grill grates with an inch clearance on each side so I can cook 2 pizzas at once so I don’t lose heat when I need to put another one in. Any thoughts or tricks you have learned on the 700 for pizzas? Thanks all!

Here’s the link for the pizza stone:
https://fibrament.com/shop

I have the 1250 and have tried using a pizza stone and just tried the GMG oven. The stone worked fine for us at 500. Our first time using it we tried the GMG at 500 and it was way too hot, probably around 1,000 degrees LOL. I think 375-400 works for the GMG pizza oven, but you definitely need an infrared thermometer for the pizza oven. I’m still in the learning process of using the pizza oven and honestly just using the stone worked just fine since its easier to use, more forgiving, costs less, and is easier to store. The top of the pizza doesn’t cook as well using a stone, but again, is way easier to use. This is just my experience though, I assume once I get past the learning curve of using the GMG oven I’ll like it.

Credit to the original poster (I don't remember), but they recommended the pizza screens. I bought a bunch of the screens and I've had really good success with them at 450. I still want to try a stone and have been eyeballing the GMG insert, but I have had very good results keeping things simple and cheap. I can build a half dozen pizzas on the screens and then just cycle them through the grill two or three at a time for about a 10 minute cook time.