More pellets

Caps_Shield

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
I just filled the 590 for the initial burn and 1 bag of 20 pounds almost filled the hopper. So I stopped. Can you fill a hopper mid cook if you do so before it is empty? I’m new at this. I wouldn’t see why not because long cooks you may need a lot of pellets.

Yup, I even ran out of pellets one time mid-cook because I wasn't paying attention and my cook never skipped a beat (other than a temperature drop alert).

I typically try to put enough pellets in the hopper to finish a cook. When calculated properly, on an 8 hour cook at 225-240 I will have 1-2 red cups left by the end. On longer cooks (i.e., briskets, pork butts, and similar) is it harder to predict but will check periodically to see what is left and I can refresh on the fly. Full disclosure, I live in SoCal so my temps don’t vary much during the year resulting in pretty even pellet consumption. This technique allows me to use my premium pellets for the initial cooks and use lesser brand pellets after I wrap because the protein is no longer absorbing smoke anyway. I have a friend that drilled a small hole in the hopper cover of his Bull and put a oversized long plastic straw mounted to a flat plastic disc (large enough to not get sucked into the feed mechanism) in his. He put markings on it and he drinks beer and watches the “pole dance” to see when it is low. I personally have a problem putting holes a what a BBQ’r would call art work though. Happy smokin’

It is recommended to run the grills empty of pellets after 4 - 5 bags of pellets used. This will allow you to clean out the pellet dust from the hopper.

I just filled the 590 for the initial burn and 1 bag of 20 pounds almost filled the hopper. So I stopped. Can you fill a hopper mid cook if you do so before it is empty? I’m new at this. I wouldn’t see why not because long cooks you may need a lot of pellets.