Bull Need more smoke

Chaff67

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
Hi everyone, and thank you in advance for any help offered. I just bought my RT700 a week ago and I'm new to pellet grills. I've grilled several meals so far and I'm loving this thing the more I use it. Sunday I'm trying ribs for the first time. Last night I reverse seared a couple steaks (they turned out fantastic) and I had the temperature set at 225 degrees for the first part of the cook. At 225 I expected to see a good amount of smoke, but did not see much at all. I picked up pellets the day the grill arrived. They are Traeger signature blend . Is the lack of smoke due to the pellets I'm using, a setting on the grill or something else?

I have had very good success at getting decent smoke at 225. On shorter cooks like steaks I will sometimes drop my temp to 180 - 200 for slightly more smoke, but in general the pellets will be the biggest factor in your smoke level at temps below 250.

There are a zillion threads about comparing pellets here. I don't claim to have the ultimate opinion on which is the best. With that said, I don't recall anyone being super excited about any of the Traeger pellet blends as at least at one point they were using flavored oils on their pellets versus the various hardwood varieties.

Pellet grills won’t put out the smoke flavor of a stick burner or charcoal smoker like a drum or kettle with wood chunks.
You can enhance what they do as @Pacman said by going a little lower on the temperature for the first part of the cook. Your pellets will play a big roll and you can also add a smoke tube for additional smoke.
Many here use Bear Mountain, Lumberjack, Pitt Boss, Kirkland pellets. You have to remember what one person thinks is enough smoke is not enough for the next person so just because someone says “this is all the smoke you need” doesn’t mean it is all YOU need.