Grate/Drip Pan Cleaning & Gasket Sealing

JGouvisis20

How's it going everyone!

I'm a newbie to pellet grilling, and have done 5 cooks since getting my bull last week. Ive read a few posts and tried a few things, but am wondering about a couple of them now and need some input.

Grate & Drip Pan Cleaning

I've seen a few people with drip pan mods, and different preferences on cleaning grates etc. From what ive found over the past week for myself is there doesn't really seem a point in cleaning the grill grates entirely every other cook? Am I wrong? It makes sense I think to scrub off heavy build up on the grates, but not so much to scrub down all the rails if there isn't build up all over the grates? Maybe a quick scrub across it all, but not "deep" cleaning them every time. After all, you want your grates to be seasoned right?

Same thing for the drip pan. Some foil them, and replace the foil every other cook. Some don't foil, and just scrap off heavy build up that falls on the drip pan. It makes sense to me to foil so that grease doesn't build up too much and start a grease fire, but wondering if its best to not foil and just scrape off heavy build up so that the drip pan can become seasoned also?

My question is how often do you clean your grates, what are your go to cleaners/ solutions you soak them in, and how often do you deep clean your grates is so?

Gasket Sealing The Door, Hopper, Etc

I myself just sealed the door of my bull. Don't really see a point in sealing the hopper from what i can see. However ive seen some say they put gasket on the upper and lower part of the door only, but not the sides. Since putting gasket on all four sides under the lid, it seemed like when I set a temp point it took longer than without the gasket to reach the last 1-2 degrees? What have you found to be best? Im not so sure its a good thing to keep all smoke from escaping, and wondering if taking the gasket off the sides on the under side of the door is better?