Flame Out Proceedure?

BigDog

Hello, I am new to pellet cooking can someone give me the procedure to follow if I run out of pellets, or have a flame out durring a cook?

Thanks

In general, just adding more pellets solves the problem unless your firepit is dead out. Then you will probably want to re-prime the firepot with a small handful of pellets.

Assuming the notifications are working, you will get an alert that your pit temp is dropping with ample time to correct it.

One thing I do is set alarms on my Thermoworks air probe for high and low temp alarms just in case. I ran out of pellets once because I forgot to check before doing an overnight cook, but I got enough of a warning that my pit temp was dropping that I just filled the hopper and continued with the cook.

You should never see a flame out/burn out unless something is wrong with your gill like a clogged auger or other mechanical failure. It's never happened to me.

Am I being a smart ass if I ask, "are you being serious?"
I have broad shoulders I am serious. The reason I ask is because I have seen a few videos of a certain brand pellet smoker blowing the lid off. I am not sure if I can just add more pellets with the door closed and let it do its thing or do I need to get into the burn pot and add pellets manually and wait for the burn to start. Maybe I am over thinking it?

I have seen a few videos of a certain brand pellet smoker blowing the lid off.
There was an issue with the Recteqs for a bit. Plenty of scary videos and horror stories out there. I imagine other brands have similar issues.