Stampede Controller Dead After 10 Months

PushermanVA

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Hello again. I am in my first year of use with the RT-590 and I honestly love the grill. Some of the stuff I've made has been wonderful.

That being said after 10 months the controller on my grill died. I went thru all the troubleshooting required by the support team including replacing the fuse etc. I used an electricity meter to check the outlet and the connection to the controller board. Both are good.

On the phone they said "sometimes they get wet."

I live in Virginia by the bay, which during the summer is basically like living in a rain forest it's so humid.

Long story short, yes it is covered by the warranty and they are sending me a new one.

Anyone else heard of these thing's going bad often? Once outside of warranty if it dies they are $200 a pop. I am not interested in buying a new one each year after they aren't free anymore.

recteq_controller.png

Definitely not the most desirable but I keep my pellet grill in the garage and roll it out onto the driveway when I use it. (The neighbors can drool).
I do keep the gasser and the charcoal grill on the deck since they're non-electric.

Definitely not the most desirable but I keep my pellet grill in the garage and roll it out onto the driveway when I use it. (The neighbors can drool).
I do keep the gasser and the charcoal grill on the deck since they're non-electric.
Thx for reply. No garage here...own a townhouse. I do keep it covered tho

Do you keep your grill on a pad or is it sitting on concrete? With really high humidity you could have condensation building up inside the cover if sitting on concrete. A vented cover or setting on a grill pad may help.
Excellent point. 😊