No smoke flavor

Butkus51

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I did my first cook on my new 700 yesterday and today. BB cooked for 14 hrs. Looked really good, pulled off at 196deg, rested for 2 hrs. Real tender, just no flavor. I was a little disappointed. Anyone got any suggestions of what I did wrong? I stayed with the factory’s feed rate settings

I just got my RT 700 also, so I'm no expert in answering you. However, you might want to try adding some time to your cook at the beginning on the IO "extreme smoke" setting? (200° and under)
Get it good and infused with smoke first.?

The brand of pellets will determine the amount of smoke flavor as well...

Ie. Traeger brand will produce no smoke flavor since it's not 100% wood. Its wood and mostly filler. Brand like lumberjack gave me a really good smoke flavor.

Like @Buckeye smoker suggests should help as well. I've never used one but have seen alot of members post about them

Good idea. I may try that. I tr
Also look up "smoke tubes" for added smoke.
Also look up "smoke tubes" for added smoke.
i actually bought one with my grill. I just didn’t use it. I watched the video RECTEC made on a couple guys smoking a BB and tried my best to copycat what they did. They also have a pineapple jalapeño slaw in the video, which I made also, that was awesome and had rave reviews amongst family. I used the ultimate blend Rectec pellets that came with the grill. I’m gonna keep trying, extremes infusion may be what I have to do. I appreciate your replies

So, the intensity of smoke flavor is also a subjective thing, meaning what's just right for one may be too much/little for another. In addition to the suggestions above; Moister meat will take on more smoke flavor than drier, so you may want to do a spritz of apple juice or cider vinegar (depending on your flavor preferences) every hour up to the stall.