Tailgating with a bullseye

lowcountrygamecock

My boys will be in college soon so I’m sure we’ll be visiting and tailgating for football games. Would the bullseye make a good tailgating grill? I currently have a Bull that gets used 2-3 times a week and a matador that I’ve never used. Looking for something that heats up quick but would cool down fairly fast. Charcoal takes too long to cool down. Also anybody know the wattage on a bullseye? Wondering if we can power it from the inverter outlet in the back of the truck.

My opinion, and I will admit that I’m not an expert on this, but we bought a RT-340 for a traveling/tailgate grill. All the recteq grills require a certain amount of voltage to ignite the grill, but running the auger and fan during normal operation is not that many watts. recteq tech support can give you the exact numbers.

I have a Bullseye and I think it would fit the bill, maybe look at the new 380x just released, more features, but I do like my Bullseye. Honestly if you can get a current model on a deal I would.

Thankfully, my son is in his senior year and I will be done with tuition!
He goes to school in the Upstate...... See you in November!

Wondering if we can power it from the inverter outlet in the back of the truck.
Curious myself. The "built-in" inverters on newer trucks are good for about 150 - 400W depending upon make and year which is probably enough, but you may end up running your truck for a bit so that it still gets you home.

I am curious too, on how much power it would take, I might buy a small quiet generator, they are very inexpensive now. I probably would not run off of my truck.

During Academy December 2020, one of the guest chefs also competes in the SCA (steak cook off association) and my wife later asked that chef what they used to power their Bullseye at SCA events. Here is what they said: