RT 700

Tmac

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I'm new to rec teq but I have been pellet smoking for years.So far I'm very impressed with my RT700 but today I turned the smoker off after a few hours of low and slow trip tip cooking and I came back outside about an hour later and the smoker is rolling smoke like the initial start up but the smoker is turned off and no lights are on..I turned it back on and then back off and it seems to be fine now but is this common or do I have something weird going on with the controller?

It does seem to happen sporadically to some folks, especially when shutting the grill off after a hi-temp cook without first dropping the temp for a bit. I have had it happen once on my RT-340 as well.

Since you say you were doing a low-temp cook before shutting the grill off, that is a bit more unusual, but not unheard of. RT is aware of the problem, but doesn’t seem to be actively pursuing a solution.

I drop my grill temp to around 225 for a few minutes before shutting it off. Then, I unplug it. That seems to have stopped this unwanted behavior.

Thanks for the quick response..now that I think back I did turn it up to 350 after smoking the tri tip to grill some boneless skinless chicken thighs right before I shut it off..in the future I'll turn it down to like 200 for a few minutes before turning it off.

The RT shutdown procedure is too quick, and dangerous. Always turn it down before shutting it off after high temp cooks.

As Jim said....they are aware and have been for years. Obviously, they don't really care if their customers burn their grill or house down.