Pork Butt, 3 ways

BethV

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
  2. Bullseye
I’ve only been smoking foods since early March when my RT590 arrived. I’ve read a couple of BBQ cookbooks and watched a lot of videos to get a background on how to proceed. I followed recipes for the first 1 ½ months. If I have two or more of something such as ribs, or pork, I experiment using different applications on each. I’ve been a Certified Personal Chef since 2013 and have the culinary education behind me. I think it’s my background that make me so curious about the science of food.

After hearing so much about the different muscles in a pork butt, I decided to take it on and learn these muscles. In Culinary School, we learn about the different primal cuts of meat and their applications but never did any butchering, which I find fascinating.

I thought I would share my Pork Butt cook yesterday. Hope it’s not too long and boring.

I have done pork butts before but for this one I wanted to try and isolate the three different muscle groups that are generally displayed in competition boxes. Primarily so that I could taste each area separately.

I know many of you will cringe when I tell you I removed the fat cap and almost all visible fat, silver skin and the slimy connective tissue. There is so much fat running throughout the interior that I wanted to get as much flavor from the meat as possible.

I separate the money muscle from the body of the butt but left it attached. That was pretty easy to find. On the opposite side, I separate the horn where the chunks come from (the tubular muscles), but left attached. I left the center for the pulled pork. I don’t know about you all, but I love trimming red meat.