Is 3-2-1 and even 2-2-1 too long for pork ribs?

geneseohawk

I've read that ribs are actually the best at 3-1-30min? I am hearing that 3-2-1 and even 2-2-1 is just too long to cook ribs even at 225? That is everyone's thoughts?

I'm in the camp of 3-2-1 is too long, if I wrap it's 3/45/30 at 235F or approx 5 hours unwrapped. Oh forgot to mention that I kick up the temp to 275F wrapped, then back down to 250F for the last 30 minutes.

Last edited:
I agree in general. On average 3-2-1 will create fall off the bone ribs, depending of course on how meaty the original product was. I try to avoid cooking by time anyway as it inevitably ends up not cooking long enough or overcooking.

With that said I frequently cut things too close to serving or finish up super early before people are ready (or even present) to eat. I guess that knowledge just comes with more experience. I am still learning...

We are all still learning, I'm gonna do some BB's tomorrow with the method I just mentioned, will take a pic and let y'all know how they turn out. I have also given up on foiling up my grease pan, I'll just do my best to clean it regularly depending on the cook.......it's more seasoning patina.

Sometimes the formulas happen to work out, sometime they don't, I gave up long ago watching the clock.

I do my ribs at 225, in general they take me between 5 and 6 hours, weather seems to effect it some, as does the actual piece of meat. Instead of going for a specific time, we eat when they are done and figure out when to start the sides when I know when the ribs will be done.

Actually this is how we do it for most of our longer cooks work out. The cook times I read and hear are just ball park guesses.

I was looking at one of the mail order butchers, their BB racks were 1.5 lbs, the ones I buy are 3 lbs, I can't imagine they would both cook in the same amount of time.