Bull First Cook went really well.....

Biggs300

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I decided to try a couple of racks of spare ribs for my first cook and it went pretty well. I used the 3-2-1 method and pulled them out at about 45 minutes of the last hour as the bones had pulled back an inch or so and the temp was just over 165 degrees. I used Meat Church Honey Hog topped with a bit of Kosmos SPG. I was unable to find St. Louis cuts so I attempted to do the trimming myself. Other than leaving too much of the knuckle on one rack, it went pretty well. But, I'm buying St. Louis cut spare ribs the next time. It's probably a good thing that I chose banking years ago instead of being a butcher. I have a new appreciation for their art.

Attachments

• 5DD6EE66-1466-4BFF-AC48-0479E38D2DFC_4_5005_c.jpeg
    5DD6EE66-1466-4BFF-AC48-0479E38D2DFC_4_5005_c.jpeg
    53.6 KB · Views: 83
Last edited:
Ok, I am new, what is the 321 method? Also, what did you use to season your grill?

I'm still a rookie but here you go. Prepare your ribs with you favorite rub(s) and cook for 3 hours at around 225 degrees (I only spritzed one time); remove the ribs and wrap them in aluminum foil (I put butter, honey and brown sugar in the foil) and cook for 2 hours wrapped. Remove the foil and cook for 1 hour. About 30 minutes before removing I sparingly spread BBQ sauce over the ribs.

I did not season my grill. I'm letting my first few cooks do it for me.

Last edited:
I always buy St. Louis style ribs. Or at least, that is my preferred cut. The last time I cooked ribs, all Restaurant Depot had was Spare Ribs and Baby Backs.

Trimming the Spare Ribs takes a bit of practice and time as well. At RD they come 4 racks to a package. I swore I would never buy Spare Ribs again. There is SO MUCH TRIMMING! I like trimming but these are big racks.