Corned beef brisket point - FAIL

Bmr23

Hello All, looking for some advice from the experts. Ive been cooking on my RT540 for a few years now and I've done several briskets, both flats and whole packers. I saw some corned beef points at Aldi and picked up a 3.5 lb one for me and my wife on St. Patty's Day. I've always found the point to be more tender and have beer flavor although I realize this is subjective.

After Googling a lot I used the following method: I soaked the point in water for 24 hours, changing the water 3 times (I read that it may be too salty if you don't do this), trimmed the excess fat off and made a rub of pepper, paprika, and brown sugar. I cooked it at 200-225 with a pan of water below it (had to add water OFTEN) until it reached 160 then put it in a half pan and added beef broth. I sealed this up and continued until it reached 200. I had such high hopes but it wasn't nearly as tender as I remember other brisket points being. Was it just low grade meat since I got it Aldi or did I do something wrong? Or, is corned beef just never as tender as a regular brisket? Thanks in advance

Did you check it for probe tenderness before you pulled it from the grill? Or, were you just going by temperature? I’ve had briskets go well beyond 200F before they were probe tender.
I did Jim, It seemed pretty soft but maybe I should have let it go longer? It still had quite a bit of "chew" to it, but had great flavor. I just wanted it to be like brisket burnt end texture, maybe I was expecting too much?

Agreed, I didn't see that before I did the cook on any of the sites I googled. It actually took a lot longer than I expected a 3.5lb point to take to get to 160 so I was ready to get it off after it hit 200. I think I will grind up the leftovers and make corned beef hash. When life gives you lemons.........