Water pan

Uncle BoBo

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I just got the 700
I'm not an expert nor a newbie to smoking
I've always been told n used a water pan on some smoked
Where's the water pan

Welcome to the group. Since I have never used a water pan, I am not the best person to offer any suggestions. Others in the group will have far more experience.

Welcome! I will let the experts chime in with a better answer, but I have never used a liquid pan with my Bull. I did use one with my electric smoker. I dont think one is needed. I think liquids are used to help retain moisture and control temperature. The pellet grills do a greate job of controlling temp for you. I have never had any moisture issues unless I just overcook something.

As above I've never used a water pan in my Bull either, I personally don't believe it's needed in my opinion. This is a great, informative forum with real helpful people that can answer any questions you may have with your new Bull.

How about a tin foil bread pan on one side of the grill.
I used water in my WSM but it was really to hold the heat on long cooks which isn't needed with a pellet pooper. I'm new at the RT so have no experience with it and water.

@Uncle BoBo this pellet deal is a whole new world, and has a little learning curve. We learn everyday in this group, one of the reasons it's a great place. Try the search function there should be a few posts on this already. You can use one if you choose but, there's reasons you don't need one in this smoker/convection oven. You'll be amazed at how dry cooks look on the outside sometimes,but a really juicy on the inside.

How about a tin foil bread pan on one side of the grill.
I used water in my WSM but it was really to hold the heat on long cooks which isn't needed with a pellet pooper. I'm new at the RT so have no experience with it and water.
It's not really needed on these pellet smokers, they hold the temps spot on.