Very Little Smoke

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-680
I'm a Recteq newbie! I'm using my RT 700 for the first time. I'm grilling some whole chicken legs at 325 and there's just hardly any smoke - is this normal? I can BARELY see the smoke coming out of the smoke stack?

I've gone from a Smokette Smoker that used wood chunks and produced a TON of smoke.

Should I be concerned with the lack of smoke? It does smell GREAT!

Thoughts?

You will see much less smoke on the higher temperatures. A smoke tube will help. For lower temperature cooks (180-275 range), you should see much more. You may still want a smoke tube depending on your preferences.

good to know, thank you!

Smoke tube helps. Can fill is with wood chips for better smoke. Tbh I hate how little pellets smokes. Try to stick to hardwood like hickory, oak and mesquite.

Recteq says you can put wood chips or chunks right on the heat deflector.
I haven't tried it myself, but I saw the video where they said that.

Recteq says you can put wood chips or chunks right on the heat deflector.
I haven't tried it myself, but I saw the video where they said that.
Do you recall what video?

I'm a Recteq newbie! I'm using my RT 700 for the first time. I'm grilling some whole chicken legs at 325 and there's just hardly any smoke - is this normal? I can BARELY see the smoke coming out of the smoke stack?

I've gone from a Smokette Smoker that used wood chunks and produced a TON of smoke.

Should I be concerned with the lack of smoke? It does smell GREAT! Too much

Thoughts?
Smoke comes from inefficient combustion. The higher the temp, the less the smoke. In any event the smoke should be a very light blue. Too much smoke will leave a bitter taste. I get plenty of smoke cooking brisket and ribs at 225 on my 700. As others have mentioned you can use a smoke tube for extra smoke.