Stampede So how does one blow up a brand new grill?

Biggus

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Hello there,

So pellet grills and smoking are an entirely new ball park for me. This RT-590 was a Christmas gift from the wife after a long time of looking at Rectecs and other brands.

Pellet hopper, not overfilled. Whatever the plate is called under the grills, 4 pieces of foil overlapping in the correct manner so grease would run down them and not get caught in the foil itself. I did everything as the instructions said regarding setup. That 400+ burn-in, not filling the firepot with too many pellets etc. I didn't overfill the fire pot the first time and have allowed the auto-shut down to run its course after using it 4 times.

So how the hell does this happen:

That explosion was about 10 minutes after I turned it on and set it to 410 to cook burgers. About 7 minutes in my wife told me there was WAY too much smoke outside and as I'm heading out there this happens. I'm not a pro at this or cooking anything in general but the only sense I can make of this is the grease leftover from 4 times I've used so far (burgers twice, fajitas twice) smoked bad until ignition/launch. Of those 4 cooks, not a drop has actually made it into the bucket/jar. It's just sat on the foil. I'd planned to change the foil every 6 or so cooks since I either read that or saw it in a review video as "best practice." Ironically my concern with this before was always igniting fuel up the auger and into the firebox and creating a disaster. I'd never thought of it blowing up like this.

That is the new "Auto Hood Open" feature on the 590.. it detects as you approach and opens for you.

Seriously.. @Jigsaw suggestion is the most likely but having used it 4 times is the puzzle why it happened now. It would mean the shutdown fed too many pellets or something else.