Trailblazer Shutdown Cycle

Golden Gopher

Grill(s) owned
  1. Trailblazer
I'm new to Rec Tec so just did the initial burn last night. When I shut down, the fan ran for 5 minutes and then the auger ran. Is it normal for the auger to run after being shut down?

Yes, that is by design. Some of us aren't crazy about it but that's how Rec-Tec wants it to operate and they're the experts, so they earned the right to do it how they feel it should be. I pull the power cord seconds before the auger would spin.

Thanks for the reply. I found it rather odd. I've always bought Traegers and they shut off after the shutdown cycle is done. I'll be unplugging as well as it doesn't make much sense. Happy smoking!

RT's choice to feed pellets during shutdown is to prime for the next cook. Similar to the instructions to add a handful of pellets for the initial burn-in. As mentioned, some of us would rather see that moved to the startup sequence. Adding pellets to a firepot that hasn't cooled yet can cause some smoldering, even though the grill is "off".

This 5 minute shut down operation and auger running after your experiencing it totally normal, it's to cool down the grill and purge any burning pellets out of the auger tube. You will find the grill also adds a pretty good amount of pellets to the burn pot on start up before the igniter starts.

This 5 minute shut down operation and auger running after your experiencing it totally normal, it's to cool down the grill and purge any burning pellets out of the auger tube. You will find the grill also adds a pretty good amount of pellets to the burn pot on start up before the igniter starts.
Do you leave the lid up during the shutdown?

No my lid is always closed on shut down. I take the food off and I try to remember to set the grills temperature to LO before opening the lid to remove the food at the end of a cook and hitting the off button.