Stampede Rec Tec 590 VS Daniel Boone GMG

Golfsnc

Hi All,

Appreciate all tips....

I'm new to pellet smoking, and want to start off on the right leg. I've got my grills down to the REC TEC 590 to the GMG Daniel Boone. I like both of them, both seem durable, pid controller, easy to use.

I've gotten it down to:
gmg is less expensive, window viewer, and seems to have a better app.
Rec Tect more expensive, thicker steel, better customer service.

Appreciate any tips to make my final decision...
thanks

I considered the DB at one time. After discovering RecTec, and seeing the stainless steel build, 6 yr warranty and unequaled customer service, all doubt was gone. I only live an hour away from them, so I paid them a visit to see what the hype was all about. Seeing them in person made it a no brainer. Truly a set it and forget it. Looking at reviews from both companies, you're hard pressed to find anyone with much complaint about RecTec. GMG complaints are everywhere. Personally, I couldn't be happier! Just my 2 cents. Of course you do get what you pay for.

Stainless steel grates rule. I have had good luck in previous lives with porcelain grates, which I believe the GMG has.

Ditto Blues above. RT is the gold standard in my book. Also the window viewer is a non-starter for me. The smoke will fog it over and make it useless. You will have to clean it after each cook. The clincher for me was the 30 day money back guarantee. Don't like it, you are not stuck with it. I have had mine for nearly a year and could not be happier.