Overheating and then underheating

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
I'm still pretty new to the recteq and have used it maybe 5 or so times total including tonight. I just bought some sear plates and decided to do some strip steaks. We also decided we would try some twice baked potatoes which required a temp of 400. Because of the high temp for the potatoes I went with a recipe for the strip steaks at 450 and planned to put them on an hour after we started the potatoes. Shortly before I pulled the potatoes off to increase the heat to 450 I got notifications the grill was overheating. It was set at 400 but was getting up to about 425. It would come back down but then spike again. To put the steaks on i set it at 450 and pulled the potatoes off. It dipped down to 350 or so with the lid open and then it never got higher than 370. I even gave it a good half hour but it only hovered between 350 and 370. Has anyone encountered anything similar to this?

Were the GrillGrates on the left or right side of the grill? If on the left side they throw off too much heat near the RTD probe an throw the temps off.

I would tend to agree with @Waterboy. Has the grill been stable without the grates? I have a 590 and it has been extremely stable and consistent. The only other thing I have seen on this could be the pellets.

Thanks for the replies guys! Plates were in the middle and I was using the recteq pellets they sent with the grill. The temperature has been very stable for me so far with the 590. I should say the overheating occurred before I put the plates on. I know I'm supposed to out them on before the grill preheat but I didnt want the potatoes being affected by them. The underheating was happening once the plates were in there.