new RT-590 Owner Michigan

edmoiler13

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Just received my grill yesterday and assembled it. This is my first pellet grill and am looking forward to getting it cooking today after my initial burnoff. I have plenty of experience using a standard Weber propane grill and cabinet style smoker running off propane so I know there will be a learning curve to work thru with this. My dad loves his Traeger, but I after doing my research, I felt this was the one for me. I still need to get a welding blanket as I plan on using this all thru the cold winters.

Few questions I have that I hope some of you pros can answer for me

Do you always leave it plugged in or just when you're going to use it. Wasn't sure if there is some start up thing you need to do when plugging it in and powering it on each time as I know on some of the longer cooks, I'll be having other family members fire it up before I get home and then can monitor it using the app.

How hard is it to update the firmware? I have heard there was a auger issue that was sorted out with a firmware update.

How many hours does a 40 pound bag of pellets typically get? Any other brands of pellets that are suggested? I know 100% hardwood, but I'm used to using chips in my cabinet so this is new to me. Also do you feel a smoke tube is essential or more of a taste thing?

Thanks in advance

Do you always leave it plugged in or just when you're going to use it…
IMO, that depends on if you are putting a cover on it or not. The grill will be fine if left plugged in, but I‘m not comfortable having a cover on a grill that can be started remotely. I’m not that trusting of the technology.

IMO, that depends on if you are putting a cover on it or not. The grill will be fine if left plugged in, but I‘m not comfortable having a cover on a grill that can be started remotely. I’m not that trusting of the technology.