Modifying GrillGrates for the Bullseye

Waterboy

Lifetime Premium!
Premium Member
Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
  2. Bullseye
I know I’ve seen where someone on the forum had rounded the corners on GrillGrates for a 700 or 590 so they could use them on the 380 but can’t find the post. If anyone reading this has done the mod I’d appreciate any info as to how you laid it out and what you used to cut them. I added a 380 to my arsenal and want to modify my existing GrillGrates for the 700 to work on the 380.

It would be helpful to know what tools you have at your disposal. The aluminum GrillGrates are non-ferrous, so they can be cut on many carbide woodworking power tools. I’m a woodworker and have custom-cut a set of GrillGrates on my table saw to fit a countertop kitchen oven.

p.s. Using tools like a grinder or a sander to round the corners of aluminum will not be a pleasurable experience.

It would be helpful to know what tools you have at your disposal. The aluminum GrillGrates are non-ferrous, so they can be cut on many carbide woodworking power tools. I’m a woodworker and have custom-cut a set of GrillGrates on my table saw to fit a countertop kitchen oven.

p.s. Using tools like a grinder or a sander to round the corners of aluminum will not be a pleasurable experience.
Thanks for the response Greg. I do some woodworking as well though don’t have the shop and tools I’d like to have. I have a band saw, table saw, routers, jig saws as well as grinders and sanders

I’m not a metals guy so wasn’t sure what I should or shouldn’t use with the anodized aluminum. I was thinking of using my band saw and cleaning up the arc with a light sanding or grinding. What would you recommend? Also was looking for what others had done as far as layout.