Lodge P14P3 cast iron baking griddle on a Bullseye 590

ARCbbq

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Just a quick note. I'm really impressed with my 14 inch cast iron griddle for pizza on my 590. Pizza crusts so far have been perfect degree of crunchy & chewy. 500 deg for around 10 to 12 minutes for a 12 inch pizza, depending on topping, etc. So much so that I bought a second one (two will just fit side by side on a 590 grate), so I can cook pizzas for group of friends, and also cook multiple things (eggs & pancakes, fish & veg, etc) at the same time. About $50 with over 4500 reviews at 4.5 stars for this on Amazon. I have a pizza stone which works OK, but not as good as this. There are other brands which are less expensive and may work just as well, but I have no experience with those.

Make sure you give the griddle time to get up to temp since it is heavy. Also keep it seasoned well & food release is very good.

Also I have a Rec Tec griddle, but these 2 Lodge griddles are starting to be my "go to" items. The Rec Tec has similar surface area - more convenient for some types of cooking since it is single square surface, but is harder to store and handle (such as pouring off grease). And I use only 1 if I'm just cooking for my and my wife. Depends on what type of cooking you do. Take it for what it's worth.

1604837182536.png

ArcBBQ, Good information. Might I ask if you did a comparison between the Grillgrates and Lodge skillet? I have the GGs and they seem similar from. A temperature experience except the GG’s are slotted and allow smoke penetration through the grates and into the dough. When I use apple or cherry, I can’t tell much of a difference, But heavier wood pellets (e.g., hickory, mesquite, competition blends) I get a great wood fired flavor. Just wanted to get your perspective.

Thanks in advance.