Bull Is buying and storing 15) 40lb bags of pellets a bad idea?

JohnDS

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I usually use Cookin' Pellets. For a single 40lb bag it is about $44. I see on the Cookin' Pellets website they have a 15 bag deal which comes to about $25 per 40lb bag. It's nice to save money, but I'm worried about by the time I get to using them if some of them would be ruined from humidity. I usually smoke on the weekends. What do you guys think? What does everyone else do instead of paying $44 a bag?

I have no personal experience or knowledge but a couple years ago I began ordering my wood chunks (for use in my wsm charcoal smokers) from online vendors such as Fruita Wood whom guarantee fresh wood. On their site they advise that the age of wood can alter its flavor but I'm not aware that they publish a time frame on what is acceptable. I currently buy 20 lb Lumber Jack pellets from Rural King at $8.88

You've learned probably the most important storage concern...……...humidity. You don't give any indication where you're located for folks to understand how big a concern that might be for your location, so no help there. But let me throw some thought provokers.