Bull Has anyone reinstalled their lid?

Luke Warm

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-680
I am new to my RT-700. When I open the lid it hits the cap on the top of the chimney. It's annoying and starting to rub the finish off of the lid.

My belief is that the lid was installed a little bit too far toward the chimney side, and that it isn't normally supposed to hit.

It looks like I can unbolt the hinges and move them over a bit so that it will open without hitting. Just wondering if anyone else has done this. I don't want to take it off and find out I can't get it back on properly.

I have tried bending the chimney outward a bit. I can try harder, but worried I'll buckle the side of the grill. If all else fails I can cut part of the chimney cap off, but trying to avoid that.

Thanks

Shouldn’t be a problem. Make sure you check the seal after you adjust it. If you get the curve of the lid off from the curve of the drum you’ll get a lot more smoke leaks.

From all the shots of the 700, with lid open or even closed, I can't see how that could happen unless the stack is bent significantly inward. Or do you have the older 680? Can you send a pic of the problem? With the lid centered, on the barrel, there should be lotsa space between the two. I don't own the 700 but a lot of pics are seen on the RT website. I have never seen this complaint before.

There is about a 1/8” gap between the edge of the lid and the smokestack cap on my 700. If the smokestack cap isn’t seated properly and the lid is 1/16” off I can see it hitting. A little adjustment should take care of it.

Shouldn’t be a problem. Make sure you check the seal after you adjust it. If you get the curve of the lid off from the curve of the drum you’ll get a lot more smoke leaks.