Goodbye Pellet Smoker Tube!

craigp

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-1250
I’ve been using my RT-1250 for about six months now. I quickly learned that I no longer need my pellet smoker tube, like I did with my Traeger. The recteq puts out more than enough smoke for my taste. Any of you folks still use one?

1CB0EE8B-02E7-4EB5-A8E0-1B188527C620.jpeg

I use it sporadically. Especially when the cook temps are above 280F and the Bull’s smoke levels begin to decrease. An example is chicken wings, pork-n-beans and mac-n-cheese, where optimum smoke penetration is desired.

I don't use a smoke tube as often as I thought I would. I am thinking about using it on a brisket this weekend as my last brisket didn't take on a lot of smoke even though it was one of the best I've cooked. More often than not, I've been very happy with the smoke output when I'm at around 225 or lower.

Good ole creosote from a dirty burning smoke tube!!!!
What are you burning in your smoke tube to get “creosote.” Why would burning cooking pellets or hardwood chunks designed for cooking produce any more creosote than burning pellets in the grill?

Jim6820,
Great question. I wondered the same thing and I can’t wait to hear the answer.

So since I was cooking this weekend anyway, I dusted off the smoke tube. I crammed it with cut down hickory chunks surrounded by pellets and torched it until the metal glowed. This was a couple hours ago.
IMG_1050.jpeg

Great looking chunk of protein. Interesting technique with the additional flame. I hope it went out at some time. How did it affect your ambient temp probe?

Interesting technique with the additional flame. I hope it went out at some time.
Yeah, I was screwing around and torched the smoke tube one last time once it was on it's side in the pit. I blew it out and it happily smoked away for several hours.