Rubs Good coffee rub ingredients for steak or venison

lms0908d1

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
Have a 700 on order and planning ahead for some dinners. I've been reading that a coffee rub is really good on steak and such. So after my burn in I plan on 1st meal being a coffee rub on steak or venison. Is there a good recipe you prefer for this kind of rub? Also suggestions on cooking temps and times would be great! As I said I'm new to all this pellet smoker stuff so trying to learn.

I'm thinking of using LJ hickory pellets and starting out on low/extreme smoke to get that smoke flavor then cranking it up to finish. But any advise or critique is welcomed.

Thanks

I usually stick to just salt n pepper on beef.
I have used a coffee rub on pork chops and pork ribs with great results. Here’s a basic recipe in the pic below. I skip the cumin. I use fine ground fresh roasted single sourced stuff myself.

PS. Try Franklin’s espresso sauce if you can find it for the ultimate coffee flavor experience.

Attachments

• 23F3EDC1-4F1B-4A6C-B77B-08D652B2FBBA.png
    23F3EDC1-4F1B-4A6C-B77B-08D652B2FBBA.png
    513.5 KB · Views: 120
I used my coffee grinder with some dried guajillo peppers. I added some light roast coffee beans to a batch of my guajillos and I really liked it on my steaks. Not too heavy on the coffee. I threw in a few pinches or garlic salt into the batch too.

Sorry, not so precise on the measurements. I just went by taste.

Have a 700 on order and planning ahead for some dinners. I've been reading that a coffee rub is really good on steak and such. So after my burn in I plan on 1st meal being a coffee rub on steak or venison. Is there a good recipe you prefer for this kind of rub? Also suggestions on cooking temps and times would be great! As I said I'm new to all this pellet smoker stuff so trying to learn.