Drip Pan Question

CoachWDE

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
So I'm new to the RecTec family, have had a green egg for years. When I smoke my butts on BGE I like to put aluminum pan on top of plate setter filled with apple juice, apple cider vinegar, onion pieces and rub while I smoke the butt. Are you able to use a drip pan method like this on Rec Tec 700? Thanks in advance

Here's what I'll say, and others may say differently. Coming from a stick burner the RecTec has a learning curve.. You don't have to baby sit anything first of all. But from a cooking standpoint, It's been my experience that the pellets have a lighter smoke flavor (from what I was used to and like) so I use a Smoke tube (extra smoke with pellets and/or wood chips in it) So the RecTec smokes heaviest on low (180ish to 225ish) then less as you increase in temps (well appears to). These Smokers are also a BBQ, a Sear, and a Convection Oven...and you have to remember it's cooking in this style. So to answer your question Yes. And No.
Yes in that you can set a butt inside an aluminum pan to capture juices or soak in them, but it changes the char as well as possible cook times.
You can also fit a thin pan between the grates and the drip pan but it's about cookie sheet thickness so doesn't hold much water, and juices dry up quick when sitting on it. Others have just set a water pan on top of the grates and had success, Personally I found that it changed the cook time for me.(more moisture extended it) this is just some of my personal experiences, as I said others may disagree.
Also you can spray/spritz your cook if you want that apple juice on it. RecTec suggests quick lid open times (helps keep temp stable).
Last thing... "No" as in you may find you don't need it anymore. Without a water pan I've had just as juicy insides a with one on my old smokers. Even deceivingly juicy when compared to the outside which appears dryer than it is.
Goodluck hope I didn't confuse.. others will voice their opinion I'm sure.