Bull Breaking in the Bull - Best Test Smokes

Kevepoo

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
Just got my Bull set up on the back deck, looking for some recommendations on test cooks/smokes to do to break it in and get it seasoned at bit. I also assume that I am going to need to do many test smokes to perfect my smokin' skills before I can do it with confidence and invite the crowds over to sample the meat! TIA

Just got my Bull set up on the back deck, looking for some recommendations on test cooks/smokes to do to break it in and get it seasoned at bit. I also assume that I am going to need to do many test smokes to perfect my smokin' skills before I can do it with confidence and invite the crowds over to sample the meat! TIA
Congrats, just got my Bull a few weeks back and I am new to smoking.
First cook was chic thighs and salmon, then pork chops, bacon, and sausage.
Bacon was unbelievable, cook a lot of bacon!!!

I like to suggest bacon for a cook after the burn-in. It's quick and inexpensive, and spreading it out over the cooking surface can point out hot spots. And you get bacon!

Chicken thighs are another popular first cook. For low & slow I'd suggest something like a pork butt (Boston butt) which is very forgiving - or ribs depending on your comfort level.

bacon is a great cook. so is 75/25 or 80/20 burgers at 350. the burgers will splatter fat all over the inside at that temp as it frys on the grease shield

Cat go wrong with chicken thighs or fatty cuts of pork. I did whole chickens for my first cook.

I was surprised at how well it seasoned up, of course I have been using it almost daily since I got it

I wouldn’t worry so much about seasoning the grill. As long as you use it several times in the first month (and I have no doubt you will) just plan a hot cook so you don’t have to wait for the grill to cook down. Chicken, bacon, fatty, pizza, hamburgers just about anything hot and you’ll have a great first cook. Enjoy it and don’t over think it, you are in for a treat.