Best Effort Brisket

Roaniecowpony

Lifetime Premium!
Premium Member
Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
I'm not very experienced in brisket, having done only a couple dozen or less. But I've put in some effort to learn as much as I can over the years, including taking Harry Soo's class. I picked up a 19 lb prime packer at Costco for a decent price and either had to freeze it or cook it. Today was the day.

I decided I'd do some of the tips learned from Harry and from Guga (Sous Vide Everything youtuber).

I did what I'd call an heavy home trim or very conservative (Harry) competition trim. Basically, it exposes more point meat at the expense of some flat meat. Don't worry, the trimmings aren't going to waste. I'm cooking them up for my English pointer.

Then, I used a commercial flavor enhancing (broth type) injection(Harry), followed by an injection of wagyu tallow in the flat (Guga).
The injection of wagyu tallow is a first for me. I've injected my own broth mixture before.

It went on at LO/180F using a blend of LJ Mesquite and Rectec Ult Blend (oak, hickory). The plan is 2 hours at LO, then ramp it up to 275F until the bark sets and I will wrap it in foil or a tray.
20220319_101125.jpg
20220319_103523.jpg
20220319_103957.jpg

Over the years I've discovered that you don't want to run as hot in a smaller pellet smoker than what you see the pros running on their larger offsets. 275deg on a larger offset is okay because the airflow is better. On these smaller chambers though it tends to dry out the meat more than a lower temp would. 225deg the entire time is about the sweet spot IMHO. I've finished at 250deg when I had to and it works but isn't ideal. I would just settle in for a nice long smoke and keep 'er at 225deg. That's what my notes say anyway.