Anyone Have Suggestions for Smoking in a Propane Grill?

JamesB

Oh that's really interesting - for more smoke flavor, more temp swings are necessary.
I don’t have the BFG. I have the RT-700, and while it’s true that I’ve been grilling and smoking for about 25 years, (Weber kettle), I’ve only had my 700 for 15 months, and seldom cook for more than my 3 person household. So, I may be woefully ignorant about many of the finer points especially when it comes to producing larger quantities to feed large groups. With that being said, I’ve found the extreme smoke setting on my Bull works really well for long or shorter cooks.

My family’s headed to the Outer Banks for our annual vacation in a week. It’s a tradition that I host what we refer to as Grillapalooza for 14 people (Dino bone ribs, pork loin, cedar plank salmon, two roasting hens, etc.)

Unfortunately, our rental is always equipped with a propane grill. In the past I’ve rented a Weber, but this year I’m going to try using the propane grill with a smoke tube.

Any suggestions about maximizing the smoke tube would be greatly appreciated.

James

I don’t have the BFG. I have the RT-700, and while it’s true that I’ve been grilling and smoking for about 25 years, (Weber kettle), I’ve only had my 700 for 15 months, and seldom cook for more than my 3 person household. So, I may be woefully ignorant about many of the finer points especially when it comes to producing larger quantities to feed large groups. With that being said, I’ve found the extreme smoke setting on my Bull works really well for long or shorter cooks.

My family’s headed to the Outer Banks for our annual vacation in a week. It’s a tradition that I host what we refer to as Grillapalooza for 14 people (Dino bone ribs, pork loin, cedar plank salmon, two roasting hens, etc.)

Unfortunately, our rental is always equipped with a propane grill. In the past I’ve rented a Weber, but this year I’m going to try using the propane grill with a smoke tube.

James