1st shot at spare ribs

EchoTech

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Came out ok, didn't take pictures but looked great. Made 2 racks with 2 different rubs (Holy voodoo and Byrons butt rub).

Did the 321 at 225 with a little temp increase at the end. Basically, 225 at 3 hr, 225 wrapped in foil for 2 hrs, 225 unwrapped for 25 mins then 275 for another 20 mins. Let it rest and again, was ok, not great, wife like it, but a little to mushy for me. Maybe it was the long wrap or all the ingredients within the foil. When I took the ribs off at the 3 hr mark. I lined the inside foil with: margarine, brown sugar, honey and more rub ,maybe this was too much and should've just left the wrapping plain, idk.

I'm pretty new to smoking but I'm assuming the mushiness came from the wrapping for so long, seems more of a steam, slow cooker thing to tenderize but maybe there's a fine line between tender and mush. It's hard to explain the mush perspective, but wasn't bad, but the bite felt a little too tender, a firmer bite/taste is kinda what I was anticipating.

After watching countless vids and reading threads, maybe it's a preference thing on whether to wrap and cooking temps. I was debating on going with 275, but for the 1st try, I thought I'd go with the safer route with 225 and timed cooking. Seems like 275 is more of a feel when they're ready to wrap and when to unwrap and when they're done. Seemed like to many variables to mess me up.

So I have 1 more rack in the freezer, think on this next go around, I'm thinking. 225 with no wrapping and check the bend test in 5 hours or so. Maybe 275 for 4 hrs with a smoke tube for the 1st 2-3 hours, Not sure, guess it's a try various versions and see what works.

I tried chicken wings 2 weeks ago, came out great and crispy. Did another batch a few days ago, and the skin was an inner tube, but the meat was awesome.